England, Ireland, and Scotland to co-host Men’s T20 World Cup in 2030


Modified Nov 16, 2021 10:57 PM IST

comments icon0 Comment

Ireland, Scotland, and England have been named as co-hosts of the 2030 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. The event will be the first time since 1999 that Ireland and Scotland have hosted games in a major cricket event, having staged three World Cup fixtures between them that year. The announcement came from the International Cricket Council (ICC) as it released details of the hosts of every men’s white-ball tournament from 2024-2031. Details of the schedule and host venues for the 2030 event are still to be finalized.

Cricket Scotland chair Tony Brian, whose team reached the Super 12 stage of this year’s T20 World Cup, said: “It will be great for the Scottish cricket public to be able to see the stars of world cricket in person as well for Scotland to show off its history and beauty to the cricket lovers from around the world who will flock to see the finals. “The event will bring significant economic benefit to the country.” Cricket Ireland chief executive Warren Deutrom said: “While we have hosted several ICC qualifier tournaments in the past and of course a 1999 World Cup fixture in Clontarf, this will be the first time multiple matches in a major world cricket event will feature in Ireland.

India To Co-host 2026 T20 World Cup, 2031 ODI WC, Reveals ICC In New  Schedule
Credits: MoneyControl

“We appreciate that there are still a number of details to clarify around hosting arrangements, not just for the co-hosts but also to enable our government partners to move beyond in-principle support, but today’s announcement gives a greenlight for those discussions to begin in earnest.” It will be the first time the Cricket World Cup has been held in Scotland since the 1999 tournament when two matches were played at The Grange in Edinburgh. The announcement comes after Scotland’s recent success at the Men’s T20 World Cup in Oman, with Cricket Scotland hoping that co-hosting the tournament will be the next step towards growing the game in Scotland and becoming an established force in the world cricket.

Cricket Scotland chair Tony Brian said: “Cricket Scotland is delighted, with the England & Wales Cricket Board and Cricket Ireland, to be awarded co-hosting rights by the International Cricket Council to the 2030 Men’s T20 World Cup Final. This is the first global cricket finals to be held partly in Scotland. “It will be great for the Scottish cricket public to be able to see the stars of world cricket in person, as well for Scotland to show off its history and beauty to the cricket lovers from around the world who will flock to see the finals. The event will bring significant economic benefits to the country.

Must Read: India vs New Zealand 1st T20I Match Prediction

T20 seems to gain more popularity with this edition

“We look forward to continuing our very productive partnership with the other co-hosts and the ICC to deliver a truly memorable global tournament in 2030.” Ireland has been named as a co-host of the 2030 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup alongside England and Scotland. The English governing body, the ECB also represents the game in Wales, leaving open the possibility of tournament fixtures taking place in Cardiff. It remains to be seen how many games will take place in Ireland, or indeed at what venues. Clontarf Cricket Club hosted a 1999 World Cup clash between West Indies and Bangladesh, while Malahide, Bready, and Stormont have all seen international fixtures last summer.

England, Ireland and Scotland to co-host Men's T20 World Cup in 2030 | The  Independent
Credits: The Independent

The news means that Ireland will not have to go through a qualifying process for the 2030 tournament. Ireland secured passage to the most recent iteration of the T20 World Cup through a qualifying tournament in 2019. Warren Deutrom, chief executive of Cricket Ireland, acknowledged that details still needed to be worked out, but nonetheless labeled Tuesday’s announcement as an exciting one for Irish cricket: “This is great news for Irish cricket fans who will be able to see some of the world’s best cricketers playing in the most dynamic format of the game on Irish shores.”

The ICC announced that the United States would host the 2024 event alongside the West Indies The 2026 event will be staged in India and Sri Lanka, while Australia and New Zealand will share hosting duties in 2028. Australia was already confirmed as the host for next year’s T20 World Cup. Namibia, Zimbabwe, and South Africa will stage the Men’s Cricket World Cup in 2027 before India and Bangladesh stage the event four years later. India was already confirmed as the sole 2023 host. The Men’s Champions Trophy will be held in Pakistan in 2025 and India four years later. ICC chair Greg Barclay declared that having 14 members hosting eight events was a reflection of the “truly global nature of our sport”.