Gambhir lauds ‘most triumphant player in IPL’

Since its inception in 2008, the Indian Premier League has had many successful captains. In the league, we’ve been able to see MS Dhoni’s charisma with Chennai Super Kings and Gautam Gambhir’s aggression with Kolkata Knight Riders. Mumbai Indian skipper Rohit Sharma is the best when it comes to winning titles. Rohit, whose IPL career began with the now-discontinued Deccan Chargers, won the trophy in 2009 before he signed with the Mumbai outfit for US$2 million.

Rohit was interested in signing with four franchises. Chennai Super Kings signed Murali Vijay instead, while Royal Challengers Bangalore chose Saurabh Tiwary, while Kolkata Knight Riders found the price tag too high. During the 2013 season, he was appointed captain of the Mumbai Indians after Ricky Ponting stepped down midway through the season. During the final against Chennai, Mumbai finished second after finishing second in the league. During that same season, they also won the Champions League Twenty20. ”Rohit is the only player who has given me sleepless nights as captain. It’s Rohit Sharma, not Chris Gayle or AB de Villiers. Rohit Sharma, the captain was the most successful cricketer in IPL history,” stated Gambhir during a recent press conference.

In the 2018 IPL season, which runs from March 26 to May 29, Rohit will lead the Mumbai Indians, who recently replaced Virat Kohli as India’s all-format captain. In Mumbai and Pune, 70 league matches will be played at four venues of international standards.