10 Famous and Significant IPL win Streaks


Modified Nov 17, 2020 2:51 PM IST

comments icon0 Comment

Royal Challengers Bangalore,2011 seven-match streak:

Chris Gayle marked an improved performance for RCB in IPL 2011

The Royal Challengers finished on top of the table in IPL 2011.

However, the top’s journey was an unlikely one, given their position at the halfway stage.

Bangalore won just one game in their first five and was at the bottom of the table.

They had an excellent batting line-up but couldn’t get going in IPL 2011.

Chris Gayle came in as a replacement player and sparked the turnaround.

He was in good form as Bangalore went onto win seven in a row.

The streak propelled Bangalore to the top of the table, and they finished as runners eventually.

Kolkata Knight Riders, 2012 six-match streak:

KKR Win first IPL title

After a poor start to the Knight Riders IPL career, they began rebuilding with Gautham Gambhir.

The Knight Riders made the playoffs in 2011 and looked promising in 2012.

The side built a strong line-up with Sunil Narine proving to be a brilliant find.

They showed their strength by winning six games in the middle of the league stage and finished in the top two.

Along with the Daredevils, Knight Riders remained consistent throughout the tournament.

After a six-match win streak, the Knight Riders put together four more consecutive wins to lift the trophy.

Chennai Super Kings, 2013, seven-match streak:

The Chennai Super Kings got off to a shaky start in IPL 2013.

They won two in four games, with two mind-racking defeats.

The bowlers were inconsistent, while Suresh Raina and Murali Vijay were yet to fire.

The two batsmen began to fire along with Mike Hussey, and the side went on to win seven games in a row.

They finished as one of the best teams in the league but couldn’t lift the trophy as they lost to Mumbai in the finals.

Kolkata Knight Riders, 2014, nine-match streak:

Following the mega-auction, Kolkata Knight Riders looked to build a young side ahead of IPL 2014.

They purchased some talented players while maintaining the core of Gambhir and Narine.

Despite a strong group of players, the fans were left disappointed as the side failed to play to its potential.

They lost five of their first seven before bringing in changes to the side.

Robin Uthappa joined opened with Gambhir after spending time in the middle-order, and the change turned the fortunes around for the Knight Riders.

They possessed a strong bowling attack, and Robin Uthappa supported them with consistent batting.

He finished the league with the orange cap, and the batting unit looked very balanced with Uthappa and Manish Pandey in the middle-order.

Kolkata won nine games in a row, including the qualifier and final, to lift their second title.

Their streak extended into the champions league T20 as they won all their games except the finals against Chennai Super Kings.

The streak has become one of the best in T20 cricket and is among the most memorable.

Mumbai Indians, 2015, five-match streak:

Just like in IPL 2014, Mumbai Indians got off to a dreadful start in IPL 2015.

They managed one win in five games.

The side had some new talents like Hardik Pandya, who helped in Mumbai’s fightback.

They won five in five and followed that with another four-win streak to lift their second title.

They pulled off a comeback for the second season in a row and managed to go further and win the tournament this season.

Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2016, five-match streak:

IPL 2016 was Virat Kohli’s season.

He scored 973 runs in a single season with four centuries.

His form was essential as the Royal Challengers won five games in a row after a poor start.

Royal Challengers also ensured that the wins came with hefty margins allowing them to finish second with a strong net-run-rate.

They fell one win short of the title as they lost in the finals, breaking their streak.

SRH four wins in 2016 and three wins to a title run:

The Sunrisers built a pretty strong line-up in 2016, with talented bowlers and consistent openers.

Bowling remained the strength of the Sunrisers as they led the side to some good wins.

Their journey through IPL 2016 was through three separate win streaks.

They had a three-win streak to start, followed by another four-win streak.

The two streaks helped the side get close to qualification as they managed to reach the top four.

The four-win streak was significant as they beat topsides and also showed their bowling strength.

The final streak was involved a win in the eliminator, qualifier two, and last.

They won three playoff games to lift the title and became the first team to win after playing the eliminator.

SRH six wins in 2018:

The Sunrisers were hit by the loss of David Warner ahead of IPL 2018 and had to rely on bowling to win games.

The bowling proved to be decisive as the Sunrisers enjoyed a six-win streak in the middle of the tournament.

The streak was crucial as the wins came of bowling strength.

Sunrisers managed to restrict opponents to low scores and one game they shouldn’t have after the batting performance.

The streak helped Sunrisers finish second as they comfortably went through to the playoffs.

MI five wins 2020:

The Mumbai Indians have easily been the most dominant side of IPL 2020.

They were the only side who could remain consistent throughout the tournament as other teams struggled.

They showed their dominance with a five-win streak to separate them from the other teams in the table.

During their streak, the Mumbai Indians beat their competitors Delhi Capitals in a much that was to decide the table toppers.

The win was significant as it displayed the level of cricket MI was playing.

They finished on top of the table with ease and lifted their fifth title.

KXIP five wins in 2020:

With just one win in seven-game, Kings XI Punjab was in a do or die stage.

They needed a string of wins to pull off a miraculous comeback.

Chris Gayle came back into the side, and Kings XI Punjab put together a string of victories.

They won five games in a row against the top-ranked sides and went to fourth after being last for most of the season.

They fought back well and almost made the playoffs.

They lost the last two games, which undid the hard work as it eliminated Punjab from the IPL.