New Zealand to host India in packed home season

Sinchan Saha

Modified Jun 28, 2022 1:04 PM IST

comments icon0 Comment

New Zealand will host India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and England in what will be a packed home summer for them this year, NZC reported on Tuesday (June 28). The women’s team will likewise host Bangladesh prior to going to South Africa for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

Image Source: Business Standard
New Zealand will host England in a day-night Test in the series opener at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui scheduled to be played from February 16. It’s the first since 2018 where New Zealand had crushed England in Eden Park.

The home season will start in October in what will be New Zealand’s last opportunity for planning ahead of the T20 World Cup in Australia as they have a tri-series featuring Pakistan and Bangladesh. India will visit after the ICC T20 World Cup for a three-match T20I and ODI series.

Also Read: India’s Selection Questions ahead of the Fifth Test

New Zealand will then, at that point, leave on a visit to Pakistan and India for a brief series prior to getting back to host England for two Tests. Post the end of that series, New Zealand will host Sri Lanka for a full-fledged tour of two Tests, 3 T20Is and 3 ODIs.

New Zealand Women will host Bangladesh for three T20Is and as numerous ODIs prior to going to South Africa.

“Last summer’s ICC Women’s World Cup did so much to promote the game, and it will be great to see the WHITE FERNS in action right around the country, and to have India, England and Sri Lanka touring here, on top of visits from Pakistan and Bangladesh, means cricket fans can look forward to a summer of top-quality cricket.”

NZC chief executive David White said.

They have perceived the difficulties of the ongoing climate – and their need is to make global cricket as accessible as possible. After the past seasons’ limitations from Covid, they will ensure their venues and fixtures remain affordable and inviting.