No Virat Kohli in the former Indian opener’s Test team of 2021; four other players make the squad


Modified Dec 13, 2021 12:18 PM IST

comments icon0 Comment

Former India international Aakash Chopra has selected his Test team of the year, which includes Rohit Sharma and Ravichandran Ashwin. His Test XI of the year includes Kane Williamson as captain and Rishabh Pant and Axar Patel as the other two Indians.

Chopra shared his team on his YouTube channel and cited Rohit’s ton in Chennai, followed by impressive performances in England, as his first opener. Additionally, Dimuth Karunaratne of Sri Lanka was named as the second opener. “Rohit Sharma comes to mind right away. It was the year in which he discovered his love for the longest format of the game. In Chennai, he scored a century and in England, he kept producing excellent performances,” Chopra said.
“My second opener will be Sri Lankan Dimuth Karunaratne. Among his runs is a double century. He played well against the West Indies as well. While unattractive on the eye, he scores run.”

“At No.4, I have Williamson. He played a very important knock in the final and scored a double century against Pakistan. This team is also led by Kane Williamson,” Chopra added.