PBKS vs DC highlights: An easy 9 wicket win for DC

Delhi Capitals went against Punjab Kings at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai and defeats PBKS by 9 wickets. They finish off with a brilliant 119/1 in just 10.3 overs and Kuldeep Yadav gets named the Player of the Match.

Punjab Kings went against Delhi Capitals in Match 32 of the Indian Premier League 2022 at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai and Delhi defeated Punjab by 9 wickets. 

The match began with Rishabh Pant winning the toss for Delhi Capitals and they opt for bowling first and Mayank Agarwal led Punjab Kings. Both teams underwent change, one for DC as Mitchell Marsh was replaced by Sarfaraz Khan and two for PBKS as Prabhsimran Singh and Odean Smith were replaced by Mayank Agarwal and Nathan Ellis. 

Image Source: News18

Mayank Agarwal and Shikhar Dhawan openers for Punjab while for DC Shradhul Thakur was set to start off the proceedings. 

It was a decent start for PBKS as Agarwal got off the mark with a solid four through backward point as well as took a two and a single. PBKS scores 7 runs off that over. 

Khaleel Ahmed starts off well, although staggering with his lines at first, corrects them later. Dhawan had a play and a miss as a good length delivery tailed away and a misfield from Pant led to an extra run. Another single off the last ball made it 6 off the over for PBKS. 4 overs later, Punjab sood on 33/1 as a result of a couple of eventful overs. Mayank Agarwal averted Shradhul as he hit him for three FOURS. The former staggered in his lines yet again. Lalit Yadav is introduced into the attack following this and proceeds to take a wicket from Dhawan in the first over and is spared only 6 runs. Axar took a strong wicket of Livingstone and had him stumped. Livingstone tries to charge down the pitch again but Axar smartly shortens his length and turns it away, the former keeps trying and goes for a loft but in vain and misses, landing PBKS in a bit of haste as they lost two wickets in the last two overs. Mustafir attacks Mayank and takes his wicket but Baristow hits a couple of fours in an attempt to make 11 off the over but Axar shows a brilliant over following that, gets Livingstone stumped yet again, letting PBKS take only 3 runs. A total of 14 runs and two wickets for the respective teams by the last two overs. 

A somewhat mixed over for Punjab as they lose Bairstow in the 7th over while Khaleel spares only 7 runs in that. Jitesh Sharma made a good start and slammed a couple of fours off Kuldeep, one edged, one off the middle and the team scored 9 runs off it. After 8 overs, Punjab Kings were at a score of 63/4. They proceed to score 85/4 in 12 overs as Axar and Kuldeep attack with determination- four runs were scored off each over of Axar and Kuldeep. Axar attacks again and Jitesh Sharma misses in an attempt to sweep, following which Kagiso Rabada was cleaned by Kuldeep as well as Nathan Ellis as he came from round the wicket and dropped a quicker bowl which spins back sharply. 14 overs later, the batting team scored a 90/7 while the spinners did an amazing job. Axar takes Jitesh’s wickets while giving away just 2 runs while Kuldeep dismisses Rabada with a wrong’un as well as Ellis with a leg spinner. Punjab Kings suffers a huge blow as Khaleel attacks Shahrukh with a good length delivery outside off. Delhi Capitals make the overs in their favour. PBKS lacks momentum as they keep losing regular wickets and struggle against spin. Shahrukh lost yet another wicket to Kuldeep but managed a four off the last ball but Axar struck again and gave away just a single.  

Delhi Capitals restrict Punjab Kings at 115/10 in which Mustafizur made a good comeback and Pant dived to make a brilliant stop, Arshdeep attempted to score a few for his team and managed a four but quickly succumbed to Mustafizur. 

Image Source: Unshared News

After 20 overs DC started their chase with Prithivi Shaw and David Warner as the openers while Vaibhav Arora started with the attack. DC quickly scores a 75/0 within 5 overs. Warner slammed three fours off the Rabada over, ending with 15 runs in the same over. Arshdeep miscalculates his lengths, ends up with a couple of WIDES while Warner striked one through mid-wicket for a four. Arshdeep over gives DC 17 and they show brilliant powerplay. 

10 overs later, Delhi had already reached 113/1 with just 3 more runs to catch up to and take an easy 12 off the Chahar over. Warner proceeds to reach his 50 through a third man. DC took 9 off the Ellis over, scored a solid 21 off the last over and sealed the match in their favour. 

Delhi Capitals chased down 116 in just 10.2 overs as Warner remained unbeaten on 60 off 30 balls. 

An easy win for Delhi Capitals as they wrapped up the game good and fast. Kuldeep Yadav is named the Player of the Match and shared a good sportsmanship spirit as he expressed he wishes to share it with Axar Patel for his excellent bowling.