“Rest In Peace Pakistan Cricket”: Rashid Latif’s heated attack on PCB

Rashid Latif launched a vicious attack on the PCB on Tuesday, following PCB’s decision to rest Babar Azam and Shaheen Afridi from the Afghanistan T20Is

"Rest In Peace Pakistan Cricket": Rashid Latif’s heated attack on PCB
  • Sinchan Saha | March 15, 2023 | 9:31 am

Pakistan cricket always manages to make headlines for the wrong reasons, no matter what. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) management change was supposed to boost cricket in the country to new heights, but many former players have questioned how the governing body is run under Najam Sethi’s leadership. Rashid Latif, a legend in Pakistan, launched a vicious attack on the PCB on Tuesday, even suggesting that the Pakistan team can now “rest in peace.”

Image Source: NDTV Sports

Latif’s remarks came after the Pakistan Cricket Board declared Shadab Khan as captain for the T20I series against Afghanistan, with Babar Azam and Shaheen Shah Afridi being refreshed. Babar and Rashid’s exclusion from the T20 squad for the series prompted Latif to brutally attack the board

“Our players are featuring in ICC rankings and winning awards after a long time. Babar and Shaheen won ICC awards. They [PCB] couldn’t digest it. They said we won’t let it happen and now we are here and will make decisions. Those who never took rest and are 70 or 80-year-old and need to rest, are now deciding the fate of Pakistan cricket. You can say rest in peace Pakistan team. Our team is now resting in peace. When you bring new players, you break a team combination. Some new players, who are selected, will perform in the Afghanistan series, so will they bring back the senior players back with lesser strike rate. Media will also put pressure on them. This is the first step towards destroying the Pakistan team”

Latif said, as per Cricket Pakistan.

 “I want to congratulate Shadab Khan on his appointment as the Pakistan team captain for the series against Afghanistan. Shadab Khan has been the Pakistan vice-captain in white-ball cricket for the past couple of years and it is logical that he takes over the side in the absence of Babar Azam for the short three-match T20I tour of Sharjah.”

Najam Sethi had said, explaining his decision after the squad announcement.

“For the short Sharjah tour and to ensure continuity, we have also appointed Mohammad Yousuf as the interim head and batting coach. Yousuf has been with the national side since last year as a batting coach and has also been working in the National High Performance Centre.”

He further added.

Pakistan Squad: Shadab Khan (C), Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Haris (wk), Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir, Zaman Khan.