T20 World Cup: NZ announces squad!

T20 World Cup: NZ announces squad!

Sinchan Saha

Modified Sep 20, 2022 1:17 PM IST

comments icon0 Comment

New Zealand has revealed its list for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia starting next month. The Black Caps have supplanted Kyle Jamieson, Todd Astle, and Tim Seifert with Lockie Ferguson, Michael Bracewell, and Finn Allen from the team that competed in the 2021 T20 World Cup Final.

Image Source: Times of India

Trent Boult and Jimmy Neesham, the two senior players who recently turned down central agreements, as well as Finn Allen, one of the newest central contracts recipients, all have secured a spot on the team.

For the third time, captain Kane Williamson will lead the Black Caps in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

With Boult, Ferguson, Tim Southee, and Adam Milne, New Zealand is prepared with a potent pace attack. Bracewell and Mitchell Santner will help senior pro-Ish Sodhi as he leads the spin attack.

Bracewell, who made his debut earlier this year, has proactively established himself as a significant element of the system. He has had crucial batting exploits, procuring a spot in the team for the big competition. Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, Santner, Bracewell, and Neesham enhance the team with the ideal equilibrium given their abilities to contribute both with the bat and ball.

The same set of 15 players will be taking part in the tri-series that New Zealand will be hosting ahead of the World Cup, with Bangladesh and Pakistan being the other two teams. The tri-series will end up being especially valuable for each of the three groups and will gear them up for the 20-over format.

ALSO READ: ICC sets new rules, use of saliva banned

As for the team, both Bracewell and Allen will feature in their very first world cup. They procured a spot in the team after setting up a few noteworthy and consistent performances recently.

New Zealand Squad for T20 World Cup 2022: 

Kane Williamson (c), Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Martin Guptill, Lockie Ferguson, Devon Conway, Mark Chapman, Michael Bracewell, Trent Boult, Finn Allen.