Team India: Milestone days across forms

The Indian Cricket Team had been working hard across formats to make a mark and they sure did. Recently the Women's U-19 team made history!

  • Sinchan Saha | January 30, 2023 | 4:00 pm

The senior Indian Men’s cricket team levelled the ODI series against New Zealand with a 6-wicket victory in Lucknow, and the Indian Women’s U-19 cricket team made history by winning the first Women’s U-19 T20 World Cup. This made for an exciting Sunday for Indian cricket fans.

Image Source: ESPN Cricinfo

In the championship match, Shafali Verma and co. beat England by 7 wickets to win a historic first ICC trophy for an Indian women’s cricket team.

Shafali Verma and her Indian team made history by repeatedly coming within a whisker of winning an ICC trophy for the senior women’s cricket team

After India’s historic victory in South Africa, BCCI secretary Jay Shah announced a reward of Rs 5 crore for the Indian team and their support staff. Former Indian stalwarts like Jhulan Goswami and Mithali Raj were overjoyed by India’s victory in the Women’s U-19 T20 World Cup.

It is also a significant boost for the senior women’s team because players like Shafali and Richa Ghosh will join them as they try to win the T20 Women’s World Cup in South Africa.

But before that, the Harmanpreet Kaur-led team will play West Indies Women in the final Women’s tri-series match. The match will take place on January 30 at Buffalo Park.

In the meantime, the senior men’s team led by Hardik Pandya won the Kiwis’ hard-fought match to level the T20I series at 1-1, but they had to work hard for it.

Pandya made it abundantly clear after the game that the surfaces in Lucknow and Ranchi were not designed for Twenty20 cricket. It remains to be seen what both teams will encounter when they meet in the series finale on Wednesday, February 1 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

ALSO READ: SA vs ENG: Ton-up Temba Bavuma Stars South Africa Beat England to Take 2-0 Unassailable Lead

India chased down the required 100-run target with Suryakumar Yadav’s unbeaten 26-run knock, which was enough for him to win the Player of the Match award. However, the fact that they did so with just one ball remaining and losing four wickets caused concern among the players and fans.