Virat Kohli returns to India’s T20I squad for the Asia Cup; Jasprit Bumrah injured

Asia Cup

Rohit Singh

Modified Aug 10, 2022 2:00 PM IST

comments icon0 Comment

Virat Kohli has been picked in India’s T20I squad for the Asia Cup, returning after a break of more than a month following the conclusion of the tour of England on July 17. Jasprit Bumrah, however, was not part of the squad named late on Monday night. According to PTI, the fast bowler has a back injury. Harshal Patel was also unavailable for selection owing to a rib injury.

KL Rahul also made a comeback as vice-captain in Asia Cup, after missing all of India’s fixtures since the end of IPL 2022 in May. Rahul first suffered a groin injury, then underwent surgery for a sports hernia, after which he tested positive for Covid-19. Was ruled out of the tour of the Caribbean. Bumrah did not go to the West Indies after the tour of England. He had also been rested from the upcoming ODI series in Zimbabwe.

Also Read: Legendary umpire Rudy Kerzen passes away

Harshal and Bumrah were ruled out due to injury, and Arshdeep books his slot

It is understood that he had back spasms last week and travelled to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru. Where he was diagnosed with a niggle. Kohli was also rested from the recent ODI and T20I series in the Caribbean, and will miss the ODIs in Zimbabwe as well., but not the Asia Cup Kohli has played only four T20 internationals. Missed 19 – since the T20 World Cup last year, scoring 81 runs at an average 20 and SR 128.57.

Image Source: Kashmir Digits

His form for Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2022 was a concern – 341 runs, average 22.73, strike rate 116 – and he scored only 1 and 11 in his most recent T20Is in England. India, Pakistan and the team that wins the qualifying tournament comprise Group A. While Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bangladesh are in Group B. All matches will start at 6pm local time (7.30 pm. IST), with ten games in Dubai and three in Sharjah. India’s campaign in this year’s tournament will kick off with a heavyweight clash against arch-rivals Pakistan on August 28.

The qualifying round of matches to determine the sixth team in the competition will begin on August 20 in Oman. The teams competing for a place in Group A – along with India and Pakistan – are UAE, Kuwait, Singapore and Hong Kong. In the main draw, each team will play the other two in their group once. And the top two teams from each group will enter a Super 4 round that starts on September 3. The teams in the Super 4 round will play, with the top two sides qualifying for the final on September 11.