WTC 2023: Which Team Will Cruise To Final, India Or Sri Lanka?

India will head into the final Test against Australia, needing a win to seal their spot in the June final of the WTC 2021-23 cycle.

  • Rohit Singh | March 7, 2023 | 8:47 pm

Team India got a humiliating defeat in the third Test which happened in Indore. Australia bagged a 9-wicket victory on a spin-friendly track where the batter seemed unplayable to Nathan Lyon. Even after the Australian victory, the team is leading the series by 2-1. But what would be the scenario if they lose the Ahmedabad Test and also go for a draw?

Image Source: CricFormer

Australia has confirmed its seat in the finale of the ICC Test Championship but it has built a gap for team as the only thing they will be looking for at the Narendra Modi Stadium is a win. But if the Ahmedabad Test ends in the draw it will create a huge problem for Rohit Sharma and the company. If the fourth Test of the Border-Gavaskar trophy does not reach any conclusion and Sri Lanka on other hand wins the two-match Test series against New Zealand 2-0.

Can Rohit Sharma’s Indian Team attain title conflict?

Then they will be officially out of the race and Sri Lanka will play the final against the mighty Aussies. However, If India loses the fourth game or it ends in a draw and Sri Lanka also gets a defeat or draw in any one of the matches, then India will eventually cruise towards the final. The fourth Test match between India and Australia will be played from 9th March at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad. Looking ahead, the final of the ICC Test Championship will be held at Oval which starts on June 7, 2023.

Image Source: ESPNcricinfo

India qualified for the inaugural ICC World Test Championship final after defeating England by innings and 25 runs in the fourth and final Test in Ahmedabad on March 6, 2021. India outclassed England with both the bat and ball inside 3 days to set up the World Test Championship final against New Zealand in June. However, India went on to lose the WTC final to a resolute New Zealand side.