IN vs SA T20I: IND wins by 8 wickets!

IN vs SA T20I: IND wins by 8 wickets!

Sinchan Saha

Modified Sep 28, 2022 11:20 PM IST

comments icon0 Comment

IN vs SA 1st T20I: India defeated South Africa by eight wickets in the series opener, scoring 110 for 2 (Rahul 51*, Suryakumar 50*). International cricket’s long-awaited return to Thiruvananthapuram after three years was celebrated with a pace bowling clinic. India defeated South Africa by 106 for 8 (Maharaj 41, Arshdeep 3 for 32, Chahar 2 for 24).

Image Source: NDTV Sports


India’s victory was set up by the new-ball assault of Arshdeep Singh (3 for 32) and Deepak Chahar (2 for 24) in the first innings, despite the small chase being guided by contrasting half-centuries from KL Rahul (51*) and Suryakumar Yadav (50*).With a masterful display of swing bowling in both directions, they put South Africa on the board early, getting them down to 9 for 5 in the third over.

With Kagiso Rabada getting extra bounce, Wayne Parnell bowling stump-to-stump (0 for 14), and Anrich Nortje bringing in blistering pace, even a target of 107 appeared difficult for India for a brief period.Despite the fact that India scored only 17 runs in their first six overs, they remained favorites.With 20 deliveries remaining, the hosts took a 1-0 lead in the three-match series thanks to Rahul and Suryakumar’s 93-run partnership.

A procession of ducks It was anticipated that the Greenfield International Stadium would be crowded with runs.However, Chahar and Arshdeep’s control of the swinging ball is unparalleled among seamers.

In the first over, Chahar teased Temba Bavuma with two slips and three outswingers, but the final ball was an inswinger that split Bavuma in half and rattled the stumps.

Arshdeep hit a wide-ish length ball inside the inside edge of Quinton de Kock’s stumps from the opposite end. Arshdeep got rid of Rilee Rossouw and David Miller with first-ball ducks in the next four balls by hitting them with inswingers that flattened the poles and outswingers that took the outside edge off an attempted drive.

Chahar added a third golden duck to South Africa’s top order three balls later when a cut attempt by Tristan Stubbs took a thick outside edge and flew to a diving Arshdeep at deep third.The South African lower division faced a challenging climb at 9 for 5.

Arshdeep and Chahar each received a third over in the powerplay, but as the swing dried up, Aiden Markram and Parnell began a mini-recovery. Maharaj and co. pick up the pieces.They were controlled by pacers, the odd boundary or six aside.With the ball getting old, Chahar relied on a shorter length, but Arshdeep kept finding his full ball to Markram that flew past the outside edge.

R Ashwin, who was selected ahead of Yuzvendra Chahal and made his debut immediately following the powerplay, was given the opportunity to demonstrate his goods.In a short period of 4-1-8-0, he gave Parnell a mix of sliders and slow outbreaks, while offering the drifter and carrom ball to Markram and later Keshav Maharaj to keep them quiet.He bowled 16 dots all together.

ALSO READ: Yadav, Babar move up the ICC Men’s T20I Rankings

After 12 overs, the fifth bowler, Axar Patel, bowled 15 dots of his own, completing four overs in a row.In order to prevent lower-order batters from releasing his arms, his line was closer to the stumps.Parnell could only find the fielder at deep midwicket when he did give him a little slog.

Parnell’s 24 and Maharaj’s 35-ball 41, on the other hand, helped South Africa reach triple digits.In the 13th, Maharaj crushed Chahar for a pulled six before taking care of Arshdeep in a 17-run victory.However, in the 20th over, Harshal nailed Maharaj to ensure that India would chase at a run-rate well below six.