Karachi Kings: Longest Losing Streak’s in Franchise T20 Cricket


Modified Feb 21, 2022 12:07 AM IST

comments icon0 Comment

The Karachi Kings just broke the longest streak of defeats in the Pakistan Super League. Things have been tough for the Karachi Kings, but their run of defeats isn’t the worst. With franchise cricket going back to 2008, there have been a lot worse than the Karachi Kings. Below are some of the teams who went on worse runs than the Karachi Kings.

Sydney Thunder

For three seasons, Sydney Thunder endured a run of nineteen losses. They lost their third game in the inaugural series, and only won in their seventh game of the third season. Like the Karachi Kings, they had a start to forget. Through the losing run, Sydney tried a number of teams as skipper. They moved around with the likes of Chris Rogers, Mike Hussey and even Chris Gayle while also playing talented stars like Dilshan. After a bad run though, Sydney Thunder came back nicely and won a title in a later season.

See Also: Faf Du Plessis’s Journey with the Chennai Super Kings – Cricket Winner

St Lucia Stars

St Lucia stars started their tournament well, but lost in the eliminator in 2016. The defeat started a run of losses which went on for fourteen games. They changed their name to the Stars, but continued to lose and only won in 2018. Through the period, Stars were led by Darren Sammy and later Kieron Pollard. They changed their named back to Zouks and then the Kings.

Pune Warriors India

The Pune Warriors India have one of the worst records in the IPL. They were a part of the tournament for three years, but their existence seemed pointless. They did get off to good starts in the tournament but always ended up in the bottom two. In 2012, Deccan Chargers had a start similar to Karachi Kings. They lost the first five games and were destined for the wooden spoon before Pune went below them. They lost eleven games in a row, and had some wonderful resources in the period. Sourav Ganguly lead them and the likes of Finch, Matthews, Uthappa and Steve Smith were in the squad.

Delhi Daredevils

The Delhi Capitals are doing a great job now, but the franchise was once one of the most disappointing in the league. After qualifying in 2012, Delhi went seven years without qualification and endured one of the worst runs in the tournament. In 2014, Delhi lost eleven in a row. They had Murali Vijay, JP Duminy, Dinesh Karthik, Imran Tahir and Kevin Pietersen in the side, but could never make an impact and quickly fizzled out of the tournament.