India and Pakistan will square off in the league stage of the T20 World Cup 2021


Modified Jul 16, 2021 6:41 PM IST

comments icon0 Comment

India and Pakistan will square off in the league stage of the T20 World Cup 2021 The two teams last played in the 2019 50-over World Cup Defending Champions West Indies are placed in Group 1

India and Pakistan will resume their on-field rivalry in the T20 World Cup 2021 as they have been placed in Group 2 for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021. The two teams now only square off in ICC events and last played in the 2019 World Cup. New Zealand and Afghanistan are the other two teams in Group 2. NZ is undefeated against India in the ICC event.

Defending champions West Indies, England, Australia, and South Africa are placed in Group 1. Daren Sammy-led WI had defeated Eoin Morgan’s England in 2016 to lift the trophy for the 2nd time. 2 teams from Group A and Group B will join Group 1 and Group 2.

read this also- Tom Harrison, CEO ECB: No strict bubble for India-England 5-match Test series.

Statement on T20 world cup

“The groups selected based on team rankings as of 20 March 2021, see defending champions the West Indies pooled along with former champions England, Australia, and South Africa in Group 1 of the Super 12s, with two qualifiers from Round 1 joining them,” the ICC said in a statement.

India and Pakistan will square off in the league stage of the T20 World Cup 2021

“Group 2 will comprise former champions India and Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, and the other two qualifiers from Round 1. Eight teams will contest the first round including automatic qualifiers Sri Lanka and Bangladesh with the remaining six who booked their spot through the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019. Ireland, Netherlands, and Namibia join Sri Lanka in Group A, whilst Oman, PNG, and Scotland will face Bangladesh in Group B.”

Once again, India and Pakistan – who have not played mutual cricket in over a decade will meet in a global tournament. Since World T20 in 2014, India and Pakistan have played each other in all ICC events, including the 2015 World Cup, the World T20 in 2016, twice in the ICC Champions Trophy in 2017, and the 2019 World Cup India losing just one game. The only ICC tournament they did not face each other in was the recently-concluded World Test Championships.

“We are delighted to announce the groups for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021. There are some great matchups offered by the groups and it starts to bring the event to life for our fans as our first multi-team event since the onset of the global pandemic draws closer,” ICC Acting Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said.

have you know this- BCCI has taken all possible precautions to keep the team safe against covid-19, says Rajeev Shukla

“Given the disruption caused by Covid-19, we selected the cutoff date as close as possible to the event to ensure we were able to include the maximum amount of cricket in the rankings which determine the groups. There is no doubt we will witness some highly competitive cricket when the event gets underway in just three months.”

The T20 World Cup will take place after a gap of five years. Initially scheduled to take place in India last year, the Covid-19 pandemic postponed the ICC event by a year and moved it to the UAE and Oman. The venues for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 are Dubai International Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, the Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground.

Round 1

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands, and Namibia

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, and Oman

Super 12s

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1, and B2.

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A2, and B1.

read this- Is the end near for Ravi Shastri as the coach for the Indian team? Let the T20 world cup will decide.