Arshdeep, Chahar swing the contest India’s way as it thumps South Africa to take a 1-0 lead 

Rohit Singh

Modified Sep 29, 2022 2:35 PM IST

comments icon0 Comment

In front of one of the bluest seas of spectators you would ever see, India’s new-ball bowlers came up with a superlative show of swing bowling on a starless Wednesday night. The cream of the South African batting had no answer to Deepak Chahar and Arshdeep Singh, neither of whom had figured in the recent series against Australia. They broke the back of the formidable Proteas batting and justified their captain Rohit Sharma’s decision to bowl first in the opening T20I at the Greenfield Stadium.

Image Source: Info4now

South Africa could make only 106 for eight. Despite a slow start, which saw India registering its lowest PowerPlay score of 17 for one, the host romped home with 3.2 overs to spare. Much to the delight of the massive crowd, which would have probably liked to see a few more big hits. They nevertheless were able to witness some brilliant bowling by India up front. As the visitors slid to nine for five inside the third over.

Also Read: Bangladesh Enter a State of Transition as Golden Era Slowly Moves Away

Pacers took 5 wickets in just 15 balls, taking away a victory from South Africa

It all began with the last ball of the first over. After swinging three balls, back-to-back, away from the South Africa captain Temba Bavuma, Chahar moved one in. The middle stump was knocked off as the ball sneaked through the gate. In the second ball of the next over, Arshdeep incredibly struck thrice. The young left-armer had Quinton de Kock playing away from his body only to get dismissed playing on. That happened on the second ball.

Image Source: News18

Three balls later, Rilee Rossouw was caught behind, for a golden duck, by Rishabh Pant off one that moved away. Off the next ball the dangerous David Miller has bowled an inswinger. Earlier, India entered the field, showing four changes from the side that defeated in the series-decider against Australia three days ago. Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, who has complained of back pain. Yuzvendra Chahal made way for Pant, Arshdeep, Deepak and R. Ashwin.