Delhi wins by 21 runs in a stunning game!

Delhi Challengers went up against Sunrisers Hyderabad at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai. Delhi Capitals win by 21 runs, securing their fifth win of the season. For his unbeaten 92 against his previous organisation, David Warner is named Player of the Match.

  • admin | May 6, 2022 | 12:45 am
Image Source:

Indian Premier League 2022, Match 50: Delhi Challengers went up against Sunrisers Hyderabad at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai. Kane Williamson, captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad, wins the toss and chooses to field. In the company of David Warner, Mandeep Singh steps out to open the Delhi Capitals innings. As is customary, Bhuvneshwar Kumar will open the bowling for the Sunrisers Hyderabad. Mandeep Singh, who is making his third appearance of the season, nicks the ball on the penultimate delivery and departs for a five-ball duck for the Sunrisers. Mandeep Singh, in only his third game of the season, suffers a setback when he is caught behind for a five-ball duck in the opening over of the innings. Umran Malik

Image Source:

comes in to replace Sean Abbott after three clean overs. Back-to-back fours, a draw behind square leg, and a magnificent extra cover drive, Warner decides to pick up the pace. In the final delivery, Warner collects the first maximum of the evening with a draw towards the long leg barrier. With 21 points, the Capitals have a big lead. They’ve regained their footing, and the Sunrisers are now under siege. In the ninth over, spin is injected from both ends, with South African part-time offie Aiden Markram, who has bowled a lot more this season. Warner hits a single off each of the first four deliveries before kneeling and smashing the ball over long on for his 400th six in the league! With a single off the last pitch, he maintains the strike. Rishabh Pant decides to tee off in Shreyas Gopal’s second over of the evening in the following over, completely decimating the leg-spinner who is making his first appearance for the Orange Army. Pant decides to attack again after scoring 23 runs in the first five balls, he goes for a wide full toss, which he gets an inside edge onto the stumps for 26. DC keeps uprising at a steady pace with David Warner edging close to a century and Rowman Powell accelerating alongside him at a rapid pace with the scores in the last few overs. Powell lives up to his hype in the last over by scooping up a six and hitting a hat-trick of fours! Delhi ends the innings with 207/3.

Abhishek Sharma and Kane Williamson will walk out to start SRH’s chase of the 208-run total, with Shardul Thakur bowling the first over of the innings. Khaleel will bowl the second over after the first. With a mistimed stroke over point off a wide delivery from the left-arm seamer, Abhishek collects the first boundary of the innings, before departing the following ball after guiding the ball straight into the hands of the man stationed at short fine. Tripathi takes control in the fifth and sixth overs, scoring 21 runs in the space of two overs and OUT! And suddenly, just as he was getting settled, Tripathi leaves. Attempts to drag a short-of-length delivery towards the backward square leg fence, but may have overlooked the fielder stationed there. Thakur makes a great catch in front of the goal. Kuldeep begins his third over in the 12th over with consecutive dots. After a reverse sweep, Pooran dashes for a quick single, with Markram getting it to the striker’s end despite a direct hit from short fine. After giving just one run in the first four deliveries, Kuldeep is blasted for two sixes in the last two balls by Markram, bringing up the fifty-run partnership. Nicholas Pooran cranks up the pace for SRH and gets his first half-century in the 17th over, but Thakur takes his wicket, although with a dreadful full toss that the hard-hitting Trinidadian miscues wide long on. Powell settles down beneath the ball and securely grabs it at the conclusion. With a shorter ball approaching the stumps in the final over, Kuldeep takes his first wicket of the game.  With their fifth win of the season, the Delhi Capitals win by 21 runs to keep their IPL 2022 playoff chances alive. Meanwhile, Sunrisers Hyderabad have lost their third game in a row! For his unbeaten 92 against his previous organisation, David Warner is named Player of the Match.