ICC Men’s Cricket T20 World Cup 2021: India to go against Pakistan in the first match on October 24.


Modified Aug 17, 2021 11:17 PM IST

comments icon0 Comment

The Virat Kohli-led Indian Cricket Team will begin their campaign in the upcoming T20 World Cup against arch-rival Pakistan on October 24 in Dubai. 

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday announced the fixtures for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 which is being hosted by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in Oman and UAE.

The ICC event will get underway from October 17, with the Final to be played in Dubai on November 14. Round 1 of the tournament consists of two groups of four teams each. The top two teams from each group will then head on to the Super 12 stage, the second stage of the tournament. The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 will kick off with a Round 1 Group B match between Oman and Papua New Guinea at the Oman Cricket Academy Ground on 17 October, a media report said on Tuesday.

The schedule for the tournament, announced by the International Cricket Council today, pits Scotland against Papua New Guinea and Oman against Bangladesh in other Group B matches on 19 October whilst Bangladesh will face Papua New Guinea and Oman will take on Scotland on 21 October.

Must Read: Avishka Gunawardena is appointed as the Afghanistan batting coach for 2021-22.

Group A of Round 1 includes Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia, and Sri Lanka, while Group B includes Oman, PNG, Scotland, and Bangladesh. The eight teams who are already part of the Super 12 stage include England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, and Afghanistan.

West Indies, England, Australia, and South Africa are part of Group 1 in the Super 12 stage. They will be joined by the winner of Group A and runner-up of Group B from Round 1. Group 2 consists of India and Pakistan, New Zealand and Afghanistan and will be joined by the winner of Group B and runner-up of Group A from Round 1.

Round 1, qualifiers to grab spot in super 12.

The tournament will begin with the Round 1 Group B encounter between hosts Oman and Papua New Guinea at 2 pm local time on October 17, with Scotland and Bangladesh, the other teams in Group B, facing off in the evening match at 6 pm.

Ireland, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, and Namibia – making up Group A – will be in action in Abu Dhabi the next day, with Round 1 matches running till October 22. The top two teams in each group will proceed to the Super12 stage of the tournament, slated to begin on October 23.

Super 12, top notch teams throughout the globe.

The second round of the tournament, the Super12 stage will begin in Abu Dhabi on October 23, with the Group 1 contest between Australia and South Africa. This will be followed up with an evening face-off between England and West Indies in Dubai. Old rivals England and Australia will lock horns in Dubai on October 30. The group will conclude on November 6 with matches between Australia and West Indies in Abu Dhabi, and England and South Africa in Sharjah.

The clash between India and Pakistan in Dubai on October 24 at 6 pm local time will commence Group 2 events, followed by Pakistan going against New Zealand in Sharjah on October 26. Afghanistan will begin its campaign on October 25 at Sharjah, taking on the winners of Group B from the first round. The group will conclude on November 8, with India taking on the second-placed Round 1 qualifier from Group A.

Semi-finals still many contenders.

The first semi-final will be held in Abu Dhabi on November 10 at 6 pm local time. The second semi-final will be hosted by Dubai on November 11. Both semi-finals have reserve days.

The final of t20 world cup cricket.

The marquee clash of the tournament will take place in Dubai at 6 pm local time on November 14, Sunday, with Monday acting as the reserve day for the final, ICC said. The T20 World Cup will be held between October 17 and November 14 in Oman and UAE with the Super12s stage starting on October 23.

India will then take on New Zealand on October 31 followed by Afghanistan on November 3. India will then play their final two Super12 matches on November 5 and 7. Prior to the T20 World Cup, BCCI will be hosting rescheduled Indian Premier League in UAE