Sanju Samson replaces Rahul in T20I squad

Sanju Samson replaces Rahul in T20I squad

Sinchan Saha

Modified Jul 29, 2022 2:30 PM IST

comments icon0 Comment

Sanju Samson has been named to Team India’s T20 list ahead of their impending five-match T20I series against the West Indies. On Friday, July 29, the series is set to start in Trinidad.

KL Rahul has been replaced in the line-up by Sanju Samson. The star from Kerala was a member of the team for the just-finished ODI series against the West Indies yet was excluded from the T20I team.

Image Source:

KL Rahul Prevented By Covid-19 To Join Indian Squad

On the other hand, Rahul was chosen for the T20I team, despite the fact that his accessibility was dependent upon his wellness. Since the IPL finished  the right-handed batter has been sidelined.

After the IPL was over, he travelled to Germany for a groin surgery. After the surgery went well, he got back to the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru and started sharing pictures about his rehabilitation program via social media.

While he recovered in time for the series, Covid-19 kept him from going to the Caribbean. He had tested positive for Covid-19 recently. Rahul completed his time in isolation, however as per the BCCI’s clinical staff, he ought to go home for the week to unwind and recuperate.

Sanju Samson Included In T20I Squad

Sanju Samson was added to the team for the T20I series by the BCCI on Friday. Samson was included in the team roster for the opening T20I against the West Indies despite the fact that the BCCI has not yet made the selection official.

Samson would expect to be allowed an opportunity to play and capitalise on it. He is no longer in the plans for the following T20 World Cup, as proven by the selectors’ choice to not put him in the T20I squad.

ALSO READ: Afridi has no advice for Kohli but “has to perform”

But if Samson makes the most of his latest opportunity, he still has a chance to make something happen. He recently played the West Indies during the ODI series and will be hoping to play during the T20Is in the wake of scoring a phenomenal fifty.

India T20I Team:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.