Shafali Verma, Sneh Rana Among Players Nominated For ICC Player Of The Month Award For June 2021

Other than the Indian duo Shafali Verma and Rana, England's left-arm spinner Sophie Ecclestone has likewise been named for the honor in the women’s category.

  • Cricket Winner | July 7, 2021 | 3:09 pm

DUBAI: India’s teen batting sensation Shafali Verma and all-rounder Sneh Rana were on Wednesday nominated for ICC women’s ‘Player of the Month’ award for June following their champion performance in the ongoing series against England. 

Other than the Indian duo Shafali Verma and Rana, England’s left-arm spinner Sophie Ecclestone has likewise been named for the honor in the women’s category. 

The candidates among the men are New Zealand batsman Devon Conway and pacer Kyle Jamieson alongside South Africa wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock. 

The 17-year-old Shafali, who had effectively dazzled everyone in the shortest format of the game, made a shocking Test debut against England and was famed Player of the Match in the Bristol match. 

This particular honor was initiated in January this year to “recognize the best international performance across formats for men’s and women cricketers.” 

Sneh Rana and Shafali Verma earn a spot close to England’s Sophie Ecclestone as the 3 nominated women cricketers; all three players against one another in a Test match and 2 ODIs in the month of June in England. 

Must read: IPL 2021: ‘My main focus is on recovering completely and returning when IPL restarts’: SRH pacer quick to make a rebound after injury.

The flamboyant teenager turned into the first Indian woman and fourth from any country to score half-centuries in both innings of a debut Test, indenting 96 and 63. 

Her first innings score was noteworthy by Indian women on debut. 

She likewise aggregated 59 runs in two ODIs against India at a striking rate of 85.50. 

All-rounder Rana additionally had a memorable Test debut at Bristol with her unbeaten 80 off 154 deliveries assisting India to stave off defeat against England after they were made to follow on. 

Prior to the match, she finished with four for 131, representing all-set opener Tammy Beaumont and Amy Jones among others. 

She likewise took one for 43 in an ODI against the same side. 

England’s left-arm spinner Ecclestone was the best bowler in the one-off Test against India. Ecclestone, the left-arm spinner, was all over India in the 3 matches – she picked 8 wickets in the Test match at a normal of 25.75, she likewise bagged 3 wickets in each of the two ODIs at an average of 12.16 and an economy pace of 3.65, assisting England with winning the series, and fled with the Player of the Series award with two more scalps in the third ODI. 

The 22-year-old got four wickets in each innings of the Test match. 

Among the male nominees, Conway crushed a double century on Test debut at Lord’s in June. 

He followed it up with half-centuries in his next two Tests, including the ICC World Test Championship Final, making a total of 379 runs at an average of 63.16 which is too good for a debutant. 

South African opener Quinton de Kock had an amazing month of June in both red-ball and white-ball cricket against West Indies. He smacked 141* and 96 in the two Tests; then, at that point, the left-hander hit 135 runs at a striking pace of 142.10 in the 3 T20Is in June which is one of his best strike rates. 

Conway’s colleague Kyle Jamieson was the Man of the Match in the final versus India for his five-for in the first innings, and 2 wickets, that of great Indian Skipper Virat Kohli and Wall of India Chetehswar Pujara, in the second innings. Prior to the Lord’s Test, he had picked 3 wickets. 

He excused India captain Virat Kohli in both innings, while his different achievement includes wickets of Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, and Rishabh Pant. 

He played two Tests during the month, getting done with 10 wickets at an average of 17.40. 

The winners will be declared on Monday, 12 July. The previous winners of the honor for May are Bangladesh’s Mushfiqur Rahim and Scotland all-rounder, Kathryn Bryce, for their outstanding performance.

Topics Mentioned In This Article