T20 World Cup 2021: Ajay Jadeja and Ajit Agarkar pick India’s squad for the tournament


Modified Jul 28, 2021 10:17 AM IST

comments icon0 Comment

T20 World Cup 2021: Ajay Jadeja and Ajit Agarkar pick India’s squad for the tournament
As the T20 World Cup 2021 is approaching, several teams have hit the ground running. The mega event is scheduled to take place in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman from October 17 to November 14. It was originally planned to occur in India, but due to COVID-19 complications, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) decided to shift the tournament.

In the meanwhile, many former cricketers and experts of the fascinating game have started dropping their analysis and their favourites for the exciting competition. Talking on the trending topic, former India cricketers Ajay Jadeja and Ajit Agarkar picked their combined India squad for the global showpiece event.

read this India vs Sri Lanka, 2nd T20I: Krunal Pandya tests positive for Covid-19 ruled out of series, Indian contingents in-room quarantine.

Starting with the obvious picks, Jadeja and Agarkar named the most experienced pair of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. Both Kohli and Rohit are the leading run-getters in the shortest format. While the Indian skipper is top of the charts with 3159 runs to his name, Rohit is at the third spot with 2864 runs to his credit.

Jadeja and Agarkar picked Prithvi Shaw and KL Rahul as other top-order players. Shaw recently made his T20I debut against Sri Lanka in the first T20I but got out for a duck. On the other hand, Rahul has scored 1557 runs in the T20Is.
The batting setup had the likes of obvious names like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, and Rishabh Pant.

Ajit Agarkar And Ajay Jadeja Pick India's Squad For The 2021 T20 World Cup

The new names which much be given chances in the squad were, Suryakumar Yadav, Prithvi Shaw, and Ishan Kishan. The all-rounder setup had the names of Ravindra Jadeja and Hardik Pandya. The bowling picks had the names of Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar/Deepak Chahar, and Varun Chakravarthy.

It has to be noted all the above-mentioned names are currently playing some or the other form of cricket. While the mainstream names are currently in England and will play a five-match Test series against the home team, a younger squad is already up in its white-ball duties against Sri Lanka.

Their performance under the guidance of Rahul Dravid will be of prime importance as it can strengthen their case in the T20 World Cup 2021.

Suryakumar Yadav makes his case strong for T20 World Cup 2021

India has already won the ODI series and has started the T20Is on a winning note too. Though India is considered one of the favourites to get hold of the mega glory, it will be a thing to see how they step up in the gala event. Talking about a comparatively new name in the squad, Suryakumar Yadav really seems to have made his chances strong with his current red-hot form.

Though he got his chances in the international circuit late, he had grabbed the opportunity with both hands.
In the ODI series that concluded against Sri Lanka, Yadav was declared as the man of the series and even came with another fifty in the opening T20I against the hosts.

Ajay Jadeja and Ajit Agarkar pick India’s squad for the tournament

For the middle-order, the cricketer-turned-commentator duo went with Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Rishabh Pant. While Rishabh has already proved his mettle in the international arena, Surya and Ishan are the rising stars of India, especially in the shortest format.

When it comes to all-rounders, Jadeja and Agarkar picked Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja. Both Hardik and Ravindra are some of the finest all-rounders in world cricket at present. The Indian all-rounder pair have the ability to change the game on their own.

On the bowling attack, Jadeja and Agarkar picked Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami as the pace battery. For the spinners, the former internationals went with Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, and Varun Chakravarthy.

Here is Ajit Agarkar and Ajay Jadeja’s India squad for T20 WC 2021:
Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Prithvi Shaw, Ravindra Jadeja, and Varun Chakravarthy.