Why was Jadeja removed from CSK?

Why was Jadeja removed from CSK?

Sinchan Saha

Modified Aug 15, 2022 10:16 PM IST

comments icon0 Comment

Indian all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja had a remarkable IPL season in IPL 2022 with Chennai Super Kings (CSK). A ton of things collapsed against the player and since the completion of the tournament, it has been said that the player and franchise are not on good terms.

Image Source: Cricket Addictor

Just two days before the IPL 2022, Jadeja was named the new captain of the four-time IPL champions, taking over the captaincy reins from MS Dhoni.

However, looking back, the move didn’t work out either for the franchise or the player. CSK won only two of the eight matches in IPL 2022 and Jadeja’s solo performance also dried up.

Ravindra Jadeja’s numbers in IPL 2022

Jadeja scored 116 runs in 10 innings at 19.33 and returned five wickets with the ball at an economy rate of 7.52. The eccentric thing was Jadeja dropped a couple of catches in the tournament too.

Dhoni was reinstated as CSK captain on April 3, a day ahead of their faceoff against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The CSK all-rounder was ruled out at the business end of the tournament after suffering a rib injury during their match against Delhi Capitals on May 8.

Why was Ravindra Jadeja replaced as the captain in IPL 2022?

As per media reports, Dhoni wanted to shield Jadeja from losing his spot in India’s T20 World Cup team amidst a dip in form, and subsequently, the 41-year-old returned back as team skipper.

“CSK insiders still insist Dhoni sincerely believed that Jadeja’s place in the Indian T20 team could come under scanner if he didn’t perform in the IPL and that’s why he was relieved of his captaincy,”

a Times of India report read.

ALSO READ: “Needs to save ODI Cricket”, Kapil Dev concerned

There are reports suggesting that Jajdeja has not been in contact with the CSK management since IPL 2022 and that could end his eight years of alliance with the four-time IPL victors.

Jadeja joined CSK in 2012 and is currently the third most wicket-taker (114) of the franchise behind Dwayne Bravo (154) and Ravichandran Ashwin (120).